100% acceptance, Front, juniors, Latest News, Pikeville, Pikeville High School|

6 Juniors from Pikeville High School recently applied for the Governor Scholar’s Program 2020 and all were accepted into this prestigious program.

According to a Facebook post from Pikeville High School, Sarah Belcher, Alex Fleniken, Emily Gearheart, Grant Holland, Jason Lin, and Colin Street were named Governor Scholars with a 100% acceptance rate for Pikeville High School.

“We are excited about all six of our GSP applicants getting accepted into the program for 2020…This says a lot about our school, our staff and our students,” states Pikeville High School Principal Jason Booher. “I am extremely proud of each one on their acceptance into the program and look forward to them doing many more great things.”

In order for a student to be eligible for nomination and selection, a student must meet these requirements:

  • Be in the 11th grade at a Kentucky public or private school at the time of selection and intend to return to a Kentucky school district for the next school term (Students skipping their senior year to enter college are not eligible)
  • Be a current resident of Kentucky
  • Have taken the ACT, PSAT, or SAT in the 9th, 10th or 11th grades.

To apply, students must fill out an application that is either provided by their school or located online. Before being accepted into the statewide program, students first participate in their school and/or district competition. If selected to represent their district, students will be eligible for the statewide selection process. Out of the 1,900 applications that make it to the statewide selection, over 1,000 scholars are chosen to take part in the Governor’s Scholars Program.

Source: Pikeville News Feed

Comments are closed.